East Coast Music Week 2014 Awards & Highlights

Photos by Mo Duffy Cobb

Olympic Symphonium and Rose Cousins

Sherman Downey

The ECMW Radio Jockeys!
DMayne Event: bar-tended all day, DJ-ed all night

Amelia Curran

Congratulations to all who were nominated and who took home ECMAs this past week. Award winners include:

Aboriginal Recording of the Year 
4 Kingz by City Natives

African-Canadian Recording of the Year
Stranger in my Hometown by J-Bru

Album of the Year
Tender is the Night by Old Man Luedecke
Old Man Luedecke
Blues Recording of the Year
The Fortunate Few by Thom Swift 

Children’s Recording of the Year
The Little Ditties by The Little Ditties

Classical Composition of the Year 
"Lamentations" by Clark Winslow Ross

Classical Recording of the Year 
I Am in Need of Music by Suzie LeBlanc

Country Recording of the Year
She's Gonna Fly by Meaghan Blanchard

Directors’ Special Achievement Award  
Rita MacNeil 

Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award 
Chaisson Trio 

Electronic Recording of the Year
C'est La Vie! by PINEO

Francophone Recording of the Year
Le Folio EP by Les Hay Babies

Folk Recording of the Year
Tender is the Night by Old Man Luedecke

Group Recording of the Year
Seinn by Mary Jane Lamond and Wendy MacIsaac

Gospel Recording of the Year 
Long-awaited, Unexpected by Becka deHaan

Jazz Recording of the Year
BiCoastal Collective: Chapter Three by Paul Tynan

Loud Recording of the Year
Graveyard Dead by Death Valley Driver

Musician’s Achievement Award
Jay Smith 

PEI 2014 Fan’s Choice Entertainer of the Year
The Barra MacNeils

PEI 2014 Fan’s Choice Video of the Year
“New York City” by The Town Heroes (Director: Dillon Garland)

Pop Recording of the Year
Mo Kenney by Mo Kenney

Daniel Ledwell
Producer of the Year
Daniel Ledwell 

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year
We Can Get Over by Erin Costelo

Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year
Classified by Classified

Rising Star Recording of the Year
Sunday Movies by The Town Heroes 

Rock Recording of the Year
 ...thank you & I'm sorry by The Trews

Roots/Traditional Group Recording of the Year
Pickin N Clickin by Gordie MacKeeman & His Rhythm Boys 
Alan Jeffries - "It's a Jam"
Roots/Traditional Solo Recording of the Year
Coffee 'til Midnight by Alan Jeffries 

Solo Recording of the Year
No More Pennies by Dave Gunning

Song of the Year
“I’ve Got Your Fire” by Jenn Grant (Producer: Daniel Ledwell)

Jenn Grant
Songwriter of the Year
“These Hands” by Dave Gunning (Composers: Dave Gunning/George Canyon) 

Traditional Instrumental Recording of the Year
Charlie's Boogie by Duane Andrews and Craig Young

World Recording of the Year
Synesthesia by Asif Illyas 

Event of the Year
Halifax Pop Explosion

Graphic/Media Artist of the Year 
Phil MacIsaac

Industry Builder Award
Grady Poe

Live Sound Engineer of the Year 
Stephen "Snickers" Smith 

Management/Manager of the Year
Forward Music Group 
Media Outlet of the Year
Jeff's Musical Car 

Media Person of the Year
Jeff Boudreau

Music Merchant of the Year
Back Alley Music 

Studio Engineer of the Year
Michael "Sheppy" Shepherd

Studio of the Year
Soundpark Studios

Stompin’ Tom Award
Flo Sampson, Alan Dowling, Kellie Walsh, Bob Mersereau, and Susan Hunter 

Venue of the Year
Harmony House Theatre

Volunteer of the Year
Judy Bryanton

Media Sources:
Matt Charlton, ECMW 2014 Publicist, Pigeon Row
Rose Allen, Marketing and Communications Manager, East Coast Music Association

Amy Duncan

Chef Robert Pendergast

David Myles in his "everyday suit"

Hat Fitz and Cara Robinson

Ten Strings and a Goat Skin

Popular Posts